Foreign Policy Research Institute A Nation Must Think Before it Acts The Future of Technology and National Security: The 17th Benjamin Franklin Award Celebration

VENUE:The Westin Philadelphia

The Future of Technology and National Security: The 17th Benjamin Franklin Award Celebration

December 13, 2023 | 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm

About the Event

The Future of Technology and National Security

The 17th Benjamin Franklin Award Celebration

Wednesday, December 13, 2023
12:00 p.m. Reception • 12:30 p.m. Program • 2:00 p.m. Adjournment
The VIP reception will be held for Diplomat Level and above beginning at 11:30 am.
*Business Attire

The seventeenth Benjamin Franklin Award recipient, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of General Dynamics Phebe N. Novakovic will discuss this year’s theme, “The Future of Technology and National Security” with LTG (ret.) H.R. McMaster, former US national security advisor.  


The Benjamin Franklin Award Recipient: Phebe N. Novakovic

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of General Dynamics Phebe N. Novakovic is this year’s honoree and she embodies the spirit of the Benjamin Franklin Award. Ms. Novakovic has actively contributed to the national security of the United States in numerous government and private-sector roles over her illustrious career. She is lauded as one of the most influential leaders in national security.

Ms. Novakovic joined General Dynamics in 2001 where she has held a variety of positions. She was named chairman and chief executive officer in January 2013. Under her leadership, General Dynamics is an industry leader providing military, government, and commercial clients with leading-edge technology and systems that keep our citizens, our soldiers, and our country secure.      


In Conversation with LTG (ret.) H.R. McMaster

H. R. McMaster is the Fouad and Michelle Ajami Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University. He is also the Bernard and Susan Liautaud Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute and lecturer at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business.

Upon graduation from the United States Military Academy in 1984, McMaster served as a commissioned officer in the United States Army for thirty-four years. He retired as a Lieutenant General in June 2018 after serving as the 25th assistant to the president for National Security Affairs.



About the Benjamin Franklin Award

An inventor, entrepreneur, writer, diplomat, and lover of liberty, Benjamin Franklin devoted himself from an early age to public service and the resolution of problems through objective analysis that draws upon the best knowledge available – setting the standard to which FPRI always aspires.

The Benjamin Franklin Award is awarded each year to the American whose service as a statesperson, sage, or soldier best exemplifies the ideals of Benjamin Franklin and the United States. Dr. Henry A. Kissinger was the first honoree, other past honorees include Gen. James Mattis, Robert D. Kaplan, General H.R. McMaster, Walter Russell Mead, Anne Applebaum, and the late Fouad Ajami.


Thank You to Our Sponsors
James H. Averill 
Ahmed Charai
Robert L. Freedman

Adrian Basora
Trustee and Co-Chair of the Eurasia Program
Richard Berkman
Hon. John F. Lehman, Jr.
Ronald J. Naples 


Camille MacDonald-Polski


For questions about sponsorship or individual tickets contact Gina Shapiro, at or 215.732.3774 x 105

Host Committee
James H. Averill
Mohamed Amersi
Adrian Basora
Gwen Borowsky
Ahmed Charai
Devon Cross 
Susan H. Goldberg 
Robert L. Freedman
David P. Hunt 
Donald R. Kardon 
Laura LaRosa 
Hon. John F. Lehman, Jr.
David G. Marshall 
James Meyer 
Ronald J. Naples 
John W. Piasecki 
Eileen Rosenau 
Adele K. Schaeffer 
Eric L. Stern 
Hillard R. Torgerson 
Lee Woolley 
The Hon. Dov S. Zakheim 


The Westin Philadelphia

99 S. 17th St
Philadelphia. PA. US. 19103